Paperspace virtual machines are available in two subscription types, monthly and hourly. This article will discuss their differences, how to upgrade between them, and what to expect at billing.
All virtual machine subscriptions include storage. Storage prices vary by size, starting at 50GB for $5/month. Storage pricing can be found here.
Hourly Machine Subscriptions
Hourly machine subscriptions consist of a flat, monthly subscription fee for storage and an hourly rate for the time that the machine is powered on. Storage fees for hourly machines cover the cost of maintaining your machine on Paperspace servers, and are charged every month for the lifetime of that machine.
Creating an Hourly Machine
When you create an hourly machine your credit card is charged the full storage fee. At the same time, your Paperspace account is credited a prorated amount based on when you created it. The credit will apply towards creating another machine or the machine's storage and usage on the upcoming invoice. On your invoice, you'll see your storage fee and then the number of hours in the billing period for which you were billed.
Deleting an Hourly Machine
When you delete an hourly machine, it will disappear from your Console. The storage fee for that month will be prorated based on the number of days left in the month. That prorated credit will apply to your next invoice.
Monthly Machine Subscriptions
Monthly machines have a flat rate that includes storage and also allows for unlimited runtime of the machine each month. Billing for monthly machines happens on the first of every month for that upcoming month. For example, you pay for February's access on February 1.
Creating a Monthly Machine
When you create a monthly machine, your credit card is charged the full monthly value of the machine. At the same time, your Paperspace account receives a prorated amount of credit based on when the machine was created. On your first monthly invoice, that prorated credit will apply. Every month after that will be reflective of the full monthly subscription fee.
Deleting a Monthly Machine
The monthly machine is paid for upfront for the month. When you delete a monthly machine, you are prompted to have the machine remain in your Console for the rest of the month for you to continue using it, or remove the machine from your Console permanently. Please note that the remainder of the month is not credited or refunded when a monthly machine is deleted.
Upgrading Machine Subscriptions
You can upgrade machines from monthly to hourly (and vice versa), you can upgrade Storage size, and you can upgrade or downgrade between machines of the same type. (Air, Standard, Advanced & Pro as well as C-class machines are eligible for this type of upgrade. Dedicated GPU machines like P4000 and P5000s are not.) Here's what to expect from you billing for those upgrades:
Upgrading Between Monthly and Hourly
You may want to switch your monthly machine to an hourly subscription if you're not using it as much this month, or make it monthly if you want it running for long stretches of time. You can perform these upgrades in the Console. Your billing will be adjusted right away and reflected in the next invoice as follows:
If you upgrade from hourly to monthly, your Paperspace account gets debited for the hourly usage up until that point, and then debited the prorated amount of the monthly subscription cost for the remainder of the month. On the first of the month, those two debits will apply, and you will also be charged for the upcoming month's subscription. For example, if you made this upgrade in February, your March 1 invoice will be reflective of your hours used in February until the switch, the monthly subscription charge for the rest of February, and then your flat monthly subscription fee for access in the month of March.
If you upgrade from monthly to hourly, the machine will be credited back a prorated amount for the monthly fees. On your upcoming invoice, you'll be charged for your monthly storage, any hours used after the upgrade, and credit from that upgrade will apply to the total.
Upgrading your Storage subscription can be performed in the Console. Your Paperspace account is debited a prorated amount for the remainder of the month for the increase in price between storage rates. Storage cannot be downgraded. This will be reflected on the next monthly invoice.
Upgrading Between Machine Types
Machines of the same type are eligible to be upgraded/downgraded amongst themselves. This refers to Air, Standard, Advanced and Pro machines as well as C-class machines. If you switch a monthly machine, your billing is adjusted so your next invoice will reflect the price difference (as credit or a debit, depending on the change). If you switch an hourly machine, your machine will begin billing your hours at the new usage rate right away.
Some other things to note:
- Your first invoice after creating or upgrading a machine can be a little confusing due to the calculations that go into the change, which are explained above. Feel free to open a support ticket if you need additional clarification.
- Prorated credit for any machine creation, deletion, or upgrade is not transferrable or refundable.
- Features like auto-shutdown are provided to mitigate accidental run time of VMs. If you're relying on this feature, please make sure you meet all criteria listed here. Paperspace does not offer refunds for machine runtime.