Creating a Monthly Subscription VM
For Monthly Subscriptions, your account is debited the full flat-rate monthly fee when the VM is created. If you have account credit available (from a promo code or customer service), the fee will deduct first from this. If you do not have credit, or it is not enough to cover the full cost, your payment source is charged.
On the following month's invoice, your VM will appear as a line item. You may notice that the total billed for this VM, on its 1st invoice, is less than the full Subscription Fee, for both Hourly and/or Monthly Subscription types. That's because we prorate your Access & Storage fee to reflect how long it actually existed in its first month since you would have paid up-front the full monthly fee.
Deactivating a Monthly VM
Upon deactivating a Monthly Subscription VM, your account does not receive any prorated credit. This is because Monthly Subscriptions are intended to provide access for the entire calendar month and offer the option to keep using them (for the remainder of the said month) if deactivated before invoicing.
Switching from Monthly to Hourly
Important: switching from monthly to hourly does NOT give your account any prorated credit. It is best to avoid doing this until the very end of a given month, provided you are planning to keep the VM into next month but are not planning to use it as much.
On your next invoice, you'll be charged the monthly storage fee and any hours used after the upgrade (at the hourly rate for your VM's GPU type).