Creating an Hourly Subscription VM
There is no up-front transaction to create an Hourly VM. Your next month's invoice will be the first to show your new VM, and you will be billed a prorated amount of the storage fee for the month in which it was created plus the full storage fee for the month ahead.
You create a $10/mo Hourly VM halfway through April. On the next month's invoice, which would occur May 1st, your invoice would reflect a $5 charge for having the VM through half of May, in addition to $10 to cover the whole month of June.
IMPORTANT: Your new machine will turn on once it is created! If you are not planning to use it right away, please make sure to turn it OFF in the Paperspace console to avoid unintentional billing.
Note: If your account is new or has not established a billing history with Paperspace, you may notice an Authorization Hold transaction on your card when trying to create an Hourly Subscription VM. This is in place to ensure cards have enough funds, regardless of available account credit. Visit Credit Card FAQs for more information.
Deactivating an Hourly VM
When you deactivate an Hourly Subscription VM, it will disappear from your Console UI. At this time, your account immediately gets charged a prorated Access & Storage Fee for however many days remain in the month. This charge will be billed in the following invoice.
If you were to create a $10/mo VM on April 10th and deactivate it on April 20th, your account would be charged $3.33 for the Access & Storage fee.
Switching from Hourly to Monthly
You may want to switch from Hourly to Monthly if you need to leave your VM running all or most of the time.
Upon this change, your billing will be adjusted immediately in our database as follows:
- The VM is debited for any Hourly usage up to the moment you switched.
- The VM is also debited a prorated amount of the Monthly Subscription Fee, and reflective of however many days remain in the calendar month.
- At invoicing (midnight UTC on the 1st of the next month), those two debits apply, and you will also be charged the Monthly Subscription Fee for the month ahead.
If you switched from Hourly to Monthly in February, your March 1 invoice would be reflective of your hours used in February until the switch, a prorated amount of the Monthly Subscription Fee for the rest of February, and the full Monthly Subscription Fee for the month of March.